Terracotta Warriors

It was another early rise again, this time to visit the infamous Terracotta Warriors. I had booked a tour through the hostel to save me trying to find my own way as it was about an hour and a half out of the city. I assumed it would be with people from other local hostels like the Great Wall trip but in fact I was with all middle aged couples. I stuck out a bit but everyone was friendly and loved hearing about my travel plans and what I’ve done so far.

The terracotta warriors are a life sized army of soldiers, horses, emperors etc. all with different features and facial expressions. Over 8,000 have been discovered so far but they assume there are much more. The fact that this silent army has been standing underground for over 2000 years and many are still perfectly intact is incredible! Pit 1 was very impressive, it was absolutely huge and has around 6,000 warriors in it. The other two pits were not so impressive after that one to be honest as one was very small and the other been ordered not to be excavated by UNESCO in order to preserve it. In hindsight it would have been better to do pit 1 last. Whilst it was incredible that they were all individually designed, due to the fact they were in dug out pit quite far down it meant it was quite hard to see the differences.

p1010186

We then went for lunch which was included in the tour and again had a large array of different dishes and rice to share, it was gorgeous! After we went to the ‘tomb’ of the emperor who ordered the building of the army in order to protect him in the afterlife. I wrote tomb in inverted commas as it was actually just a giant mound of dirt and trees. He was supposedly buried underneath with the tomb allegedly the grandest the world has ever seen but to be honest, it wasn’t worth the journey. It literally just looked like a hill.

All in all it was a very interesting day and was definitely a great thing to see. But if I’m being totally honest (and I’m sure any archaeologist would shoot me for saying so) but I was a little underwhelmed by it all. I’m not sure if my expectations were too high, or if it just because they were low down so the differences could only be seen through a zoomed camera lens, and I’d probably have a different perspective if I’d left the best till last, but yeah… the ‘greatest archaeological find in the world’ didn’t particularly light my fire.

Leave a Reply

